Rendezvous with Injustice: How a Family Survived Hell after Blowing the Whistle on the 1MDB Financial Scandal


Self-published (First Published, 2023)
372 pages including Bibliography


Only 1 left in stock

If you purchase this book you will earn 17 reward points!
ISBN: 9788409460014 Product ID: 36620 Subjects: , Sub-subjects: , ,

Rendezvous with Injustice is an account of the 1MDB scandal that focuses not only on the crimes of men in expensive suits but also the human consequences felt by those who dared to do the right thing by exposing them. It’s a story that involves financial chicanery, unscrupulous lawyers, greed, decadence and even a fake Scotland Yard detective. Xavier Justo was a former Swiss financier who worked for PetroSaudi, an oil services and production company with ties to the Saudi royal family. He discovered evidence of fraud and embezzlement on an enormous scale, committed by his bosses and some Malaysian partners who had conspired to steal billions of dollars from the country’s sovereign wealth fund. After sitting on the evidence for some time, Justo decided to blow the whistle, setting off a chain of events that would change his life and the lives of his loved ones forever.

The 1MDB scandal is a story of financial chicanery, unscrupulous lawyers, and greed. The corruption was so vast that it involved the leader of the country and the laundering of billions of dollars. When Justo exposed the crimes, he was thrown into a Thai jail as part of a cover-up. Meanwhile, his wife, Laura, was left to battle an 18-month onslaught of intimidation, manipulation, and lies. She faced the daunting task of exposing the criminals to ensure her husband’s safety. Through it all, the couple remained committed to seeking justice. They wrote Rendezvous with Injustice as a cry for truth and a testament to human resilience and tenacity. They hope that their story will help readers make sense of the rights and wrongs of the scandal and encourage people to continue the fight against corruption.

The book is a gripping account of the scandal, but it also shines a light on the human consequences of speaking out against corruption. The Justos’ story illustrates the price that individuals and families must pay for doing the right thing. They were subjected to intimidation and harassment, and their lives were turned upside down. Their experience highlights the need for better protections for whistleblowers and their families. Furthermore, “Rendezvous with Injustice” serves as a warning about the pervasive nature of corruption and the need for transparency and accountability in government and business. It is a cautionary tale about the dangers of unchecked greed and the impact it can have on the lives of ordinary people.

In his foreword, the former Prime Minister of Malaysia, Mahathir Mohamad, calls Justo’s experience a lesson for anyone who cares about combating corruption. Justo suffered while the real perpetrators walked freely along the corridors of power, unashamed and confident that their crimes would go unpunished. The book highlights the need for ongoing efforts to hold those in power accountable for their actions. Rendezvous with Injustice is a powerful and compelling account of one of the largest financial scandals in recent history. It sheds light on the human cost of corruption and the need for justice and accountability. The book serves as a reminder that the fight against corruption is ongoing and that it requires the courage and tenacity of individuals like Xavier and Laura Justo.

Prologue – Xavier – A Last Moment of Freedom
Prologue – Laura – Farewell to the Carefree Life

1. Xavier – Growing Up in a City of Appearances
2. Laura – Young and Adventurous
3. Xavier – Rich Thieves
4. Xavier – Life Changes
5. Laura – And Then There Were Three
6. Xavier – A Different Kind of Prisoner
7. Laura – Caught in a Web
8. Xavier – A Bittersweet Moment
9. Laura – A Young Mother in a Sea of Corruption
10. Xavier – My Four-Minute Trial
11. Laura – Twisted Tapes
12. Laura – 25-Hour Days
13. Xavier – Prospects Unappealing
14. Laura – War Looms
15. Xavier – Prison: A Parallel Universe
16. Xavier – Through Gritted Teeth
17. Laura – The Turning Point
18. Laura – Meeting the FBI
19. Xavier – Torn Apart
20. Laura – Painful Parting
21. Xavier – Swiss Support
22. Laura – Released from Silence
23. Xavier – Circle of Life
24. Laura – An Excruciating Wait
25. Laura – Dreams Become Reality
26. Xavier – The Sweet Smell of Freedom
27. Xavier – Staying True
28. Laura – David versus Goliath
29. Xavier – A Hero’s Welcome
30. Laura – A False Dawn

Epilogue – Xavier and Laura – An Unfinished Victory


Weight0.584 kg
Dimensions22.9 × 15.2 × 2 cm





Year Published


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.